back to Polytechnic Institute of Viseu . english version . international relations . international cooperation


main menu


facts and figures

services and facilities




international relations

international semesters


Viseu and Lamego

Study in Portugal

photo gallery



The Polytechnic Institute of Viseu has been involved in international cooperation activities since the beginning of the 90’s. Since then, the Institute has been intensifying and diversifying its international activity, and it is our belief that this kind of cooperation is a source of development for the institution and the surrounding region. The current activity package reflects this political view and it has been substantially extended to projects with diverse goals being implemented in several academic and geographic fields. For the administrative management of these activities, the Polytechnic has an International Office. The International Office staff works in straight connection with the several academic co-ordinators in each integrated school. These last ones are responsible, at their own schools, for all scientific and pedagogical aspects of the international cooperation.

Presently, the Polytechnic of Viseu cooperates with around 100 institutions in the development of bilateral and multilateral projects, also having hundreds of links with all kind of organisations in the scope of several international networks.

Programmes: Erasmus, Leonardo da Vinci, Comenius, Língua, Culture, etc.

Activities: student/staff mobility; intensive programmes; Portuguese language courses for foreign students; joint curriculum development; development of pedagogical materials; professional training; research, etc.

Networks: Crossborder University League of Castela and Leão and the Central Region of Portugal; Innovawood (European Network for Wood Industry); Ensse (European Network of Sports Sciences, Education and Employment); Eurashe (European Association of Institutions in Higher Education), AULP (Association of Portuguese Speaking Universities), etc.

Countries: Belgium, Brazil, Cape Verde, China, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Romania, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, The Netherlands, Turkey ,United Kingdom,.